Date: 1st June 2017 at 12:55am
Written by:

Huddersfield Town are represented in the EFL Team Of The Play Offs that has been selected following the final Play Off Final of 2016/17.

Huddersfield Town booked their place in the Premier League for next term with a penalty shootout victory over Reading at Wembley in the Championship Play Off, whilst in the League One Final Millwall won one nil over Bradford City to reach the Championship. Finally League Two, saw Blackpool overcome Exeter City two one to reach League One.

Taking in the Semi Final stages of the Play Offs as well, here is the team selected.

The performances by Danny Ward, Christopher Schindler and Aaron Mooy in Huddersfield’s three games against Fulham and Reading was enough to earn them a place in the side alongside the other most impressive performers in the Play Off competition.

I think we’ll already know ourselves, and not just based on the latest performance, why the trio were selected as part of the team but explaining the choice – the blurb read.


‘A hero in the semi-final shoot-out against Sheffield Wednesday, Ward repeated the feat at Wembley. Two saves against the Owls were followed up by the on-loan stopper denying Jordan Obita from 12 yards, setting his side up for Play-Off Final victory.’


‘The German stood tall at the back throughout Huddersfield’s Play-Off campaign, including keeping Reading at bay in the Play-Off Final. And then, he stepped up from 12 yards, scoring the penalty which sent the Terriers to the Premier League.’


‘Mooy demonstrated his class again throughout the Play-Offs, and was one of Huddersfield’s star performers again at Wembley. He also coolly slotted in the Play-Off Final shoot-out, scoring the fourth kick to bring the Terriers back level.’

Full Team:

Danny Ward (Huddersfield Town), Tony Craig (Millwall), Christopher Schindler (Huddersfield Town), Chris Gunter (Reading), Bright Osayi-Samuel (Blackpool), Shaun Williams (Millwall), Aaron Mooy (Huddersfield Town), Brad Potts (Blackpool), David Wheeler (Exeter City), Steve Morison (Millwall), Mark Cullen (Blackpool).

Manager – Neil Harris (Millwall).